Maucaillou

The Château

The Château MAUCAILLOU building is inscribed in the inventory of “BORDEAUX CHÂTEAUX”.

On his marriage in 1875, J. Petit-Laroche offered his wife the construction of a sumptuous mansion house facing his cellars in the Médoc as a wedding present, and this is the Château that we see today. The building work was undertaken by the Marian brothers, from Moulis.

It is a strange and audacious mix of architectural styles, somewhat like the wines of the Médoc that are blended from several different grapes.

The extravagant decor, with its Renaissance, middle and end of the 17th century references, make this an excellent example of the kind of eclectic architecture that abounded in the Médoc at the end of the 19th century, before the various crises that were later to strike the vineyards  (Phylloxera, mildew  …).

The “Bordeaux Châteaux” inventory collection

The Château MAUCAILLOU building is inscribed in the inventory of “BORDEAUX CHATEAUX”.

J. Petit-Laroche also established a new wine producing estate, which would take the name Château MAUCAILLOU, on two plots known as MAUCAILLOU and CAUBET totalling one and a half hectares.

MAUCAILLOU means “bad stones” in the sense understood by farmers in the Middle Ages when referring to this type of barren gravelly soil on which cereals, the principal source of revenue at the time, could not grow. It was only later that the potential of these gravelly outcrops was recognized as being perfect for cultivating vines of the highest quality.

And so MAUCAILLOU came into being, a winemaking château of the highest order, since the quality of its wines have never ceased to be acclaimed since 1889 in wine competitions and blind tastings amongst professionals, all around the world.

Philosophy

The philosophy of Château MAUCAILLOU can be resumed as:

Grand Cru Classé, cannot,
Cru Bourgeois, deigns not,
Château MAUCAILLOU, is.

Philippe Dourthe.

Certain cynics may think, wrongly, that this is a simple plagiarism of a proclamation made by Philippe de Rothschild about his Château Mouton Rothschild, before this was reclassified from second to first place in the hierarchy of Médoc Grands Crus Classés in 1972.

“Grand Cru Classé, cannot” – Château MAUCAILLOU can never form part of the 1855 classification of Médoc Grands Crus for the simple reason that this classification has remained unchanged, and unchangeable, since its inception, and Château MAUCAILLOU was only created in 1875.  The Syndicat of Crus Classés has never agreed to any modification to the official 1855 classification.

Which is a great shame for Château MAUCAILLOU, as many wine critics consider it to be equal to any 1855 Cru Classé.

“Cru Bourgeois, deigns not” – Château MAUCAILLOU was classed as a Cru Bourgeois in 1932. Wishing to form part of a serious classification and not a partisan one, it renounced the 2003 classification of Crus Bourgeois which, in fact, was later cancelled.

“Château MAUCAILLOU, is” – because Château MAUCAILLOU remains and will always be an exceptional Cru appreciated the world over which ultimately has no real need to appear in a new intermediate classification to justify its reputation and status.

Maucaillou

The Château

Maucaillou

Le Château Maucaillou

La bâtisse du Château Maucaillou est répertoriée dans la Collection inventaire «Château Bordeaux».

En 1875, J. Petit-Laroche se marie, et offre à sa femme en cadeau de mariage, la construction d’une belle demeure bourgeoise en face de ses caves médocaines : le Château actuel. Les travaux ont été réalisés par les frères Marian, entrepreneurs à Moulis.

C’est un étrange et audacieux mélange architectural qui semble marier plusieurs styles, à l’image du vin du Médoc qui est issu de l’assemblage de plusieurs cépages.

La surabondance du décor, qui veut évoquer à la fois la Renaissance, le milieu et la fin du XVIIème siècle, font de cette construction un excellent exemple de l’architecture éclectique qui fleurit en Médoc à la fin du XIXème, avant les crises que le vignoble a pu connaître par la suite (Phylloxera, mildiou , …).

Collection inventaire « Châteaux Bordeaux »

La bâtisse du Château MAUCAILLOU est répertoriée dans la Collection inventaire «CHÂTEAUX BORDEAUX».

Simultanément, J. Petit-Laroche constitue aux lieux dits «MAUCAILLOU» et «CAUBET», sur un hectare et demi, un nouveau domaine viticole qui prendra le nom de Château MAUCAILLOU.

«MAUCAILLOU» signifie «mauvais cailloux», au sens où l’entendaient les agriculteurs du moyen âge, car ce genre de parcelles de terre graveleuse était impropre à toute culture céréalière, principale source de survie à l’époque. Par la suite, on s’est rendu compte que ces croupes de graves constituaient un terroir de prédilection pour les vignobles de haute expression.

Ainsi est né MAUCAILLOU, un château viticole bourré de talents, puisque ses vins ne cessent depuis 1889 d’être régulièrement à l’honneur, dans le monde entier, lors de concours et de «dégustations à l’aveugle» entre professionnels.

Philosophie

La philosophie du Château MAUCAILLOU peut se résumer dans cette maxime :

«Grand Cru Classé, ne puis,
Cru Bourgeois, ne daigne,
Château MAUCAILLOU, suis.»

Philippe Dourthe.

Certains esprits chagrins penseront à tord que cette maxime est un simple plagiat de celle clamée par le regretté Philippe de Rothschild pour son Château Mouton Rothschild, avant le reclassement de ce dernier en 1972, de la seconde à la première place dans la hiérarchie des Grands Crus Classés du Médoc.

«Grand Cru Classé, ne puis» : Le Château MAUCAILLOU ne pourra jamais accéder au Classement de 1855 des Grands Crus du Médoc, pour la simple raison que ce Classement reste immuable depuis sa création, et que le Château MAUCAILLOU n’a vu le jour qu’en 1875. En effet, le Syndicat des Crus Classés n’a jamais accepté l’entrée d’un nouveau membre dans le Classement officiel de 1855.

C’est vraiment dommage pour le Château MAUCAILLOU, car de nombreux écrivains du Vin l’assimilent assez régulièrement à un cru Classé du Médoc en 1855 (Voir la rubrique «On en parle»).

«Cru Bourgeois, ne daigne» : Le Château MAUCAILLOU a été officiellement classé «Cru Bourgeois» en 1932. Toujours désireux de faire partie d’une classification sérieuse, et non partisane, le Château MAUCAILLOU a renié le Classement des Crus Bourgeois de 2003, qui a d’ailleurs été officiellement annulé par la suite.

«Château MAUCAILLOU, suis» , car le Château MAUCAILLOU reste et doit toujours rester ce Cru d’exception qui est apprécié dans le monde entier, et qui, finalement, n’a peut-être pas un réel besoin de figurer dans un nouveau classement intermédiaire pour assurer sa réputation et sa promotion.

Maucaillou

Le Château Maucaillou